As I expressed so semi-coherently in my last entry, I've been stuck for blog ideas/ time as of late. I think I've figured out the reason. Basically, I tend to write in order to figure things out, but miraculously, my life pretty much makes sense to me at the moment. But to all of you, out there in not-where-I-am land, things may need some explaining. So, why don't I tell you what's been keeping me occupied.
Tsuyu
After baseball, it seems sometimes that the Japanese national pastime is bragging about how Japan is a country (sometimes, the only country) with four distinct seasons. Japanese people love to wax sentimental about their winter snow, spring blossoms, hot summers, and vivid red autumns, and how wonderful and Japanese it all is. These people are not only obnoxious, they're dead wrong, since most people agree that Japan has a fifth season- the rainy season. "Tsuyu" lasts from the middle of June to the end of July, at which point "Summer" is officially declared. Rainy season in Japan is usually pretty miserable; the humidity spikes and it rains all day, everyday, spoiling food, moulding futons, and making any outdoors activity completely impossible.
Tsuyu this year was fairly gentle; the rainfall was minimal and the temperatures mild, prompting the usual widespread murmurings about global climate change that somehow never keep people from running the AC at subzero with the door open. It was pretty dreary, but altogether harmless.
Summer
Savvy travelers know better than to time their trips to Japan in summertime. Although it beats being trapped inside a museum for a week by the rainy skies of tsuyu, touring around in the heat and humidity of August is nothing to be trifled with. I myself attempted a temple tour of Kamakura on a particularly hot weekend in August, and I don't remember a damn thing about except the heat, the sun, the screaming cicada, and the sweat.
Now that I live here and I don't feel the urge to run around to landmarks in the dead heat, I've been able to adopt several lizard-like strategies for keeping cool: namely, moving very little and staying in the shade. I get up early (easy, since there's no daylight savings and the sun is up at 4:30) so that I don't have to run to the train. Once I get to the platform I take the car at the very end of the track because its the most empty, and once inside I strategize carefully to ensure that I'm away from the hot, sweaty bodies of other commuters, but still within reach of the AC vent. Heavily wooded areas like parks and cemeteries are significantly cooler, although rife with mosquitos, and in neighborhoods like Shinjuku you can take the air conditioned underground walkways at least halfway to your destination, at least. The best and my most recommended strategy, however, is to lay low until the sun goes down.
Nighttime activity is the reason that, despite the sweat and the humidity, summer is my favorite season in Japan. From beer gardens on department store rooftops to tiny yakitori shops under the train tracks in Ueno, everyone from the crotchety chain-smoking business man to the fresh-faced college co-ed is outside, drinking and chatting. So much of Japanese life and interaction usually happens behind closed doors- in windowless restaurants, basement coffee shops or bars down dark alleys in unmarked buildings. But in Summer everyone goes out, often to the same places, and mingles. This is the perfect chance for foreigners too to go out and make friends, since drunk Japanese on a hot summer's eve are the most affable, the most brave, and the most likely to dredge up what's left of their English and have a frank conversation with you. And, if you're lucky enough to speak the language, drunk Japanese are also the most likely to speak to you like a normal person and not a child/ alien, and if you're real lucky, you may even be able to avoid the otherwise inevitable interrogation about how on earth you learned to hold your chopsticks.
The other awesome thing about summer is the endless string of Matsuri, which is Japanese for festival. Matsuri usually have their origin in some something religious or traditional, although generally most of the people who show up couldn't really tell you what it is. Most of the local ones take place at a shrine or temple, and happen on a date which is significant either for the shrine or its patron deity. In the latter case, the festival may take place at a few scattered locations; for example, all the shrines dedicated to the Inari fox god. The Matsuri may be seasonal as well; if a temple has planted several hundred plum blossom trees on its grounds, it's fairly likely that there will be a plum blossom matsuri there in mid-February.
I love Matsuri because its one of the few cultural activities you can do that normal people actually still take part in. The younger generation doesn't watch sumo and they couldn't give a crap about ikebana, but one thing they do love is to dress up in Summer Kimono and head out for a matsuri. I don't know who's genius idea it was to market traditional clothing to trendy teens but Yukata are as big department store presence as swim suits in summer. So on hot summer nights all the kids in their colorful Yukata come out with their bleached hair in their face and boyfriend on their arm to eat streetfood and maybe pray at a shrine. Their little siblings beg their parents for plastic pokemon toys and win doomed goldfish, and good times are had by all. In fact, there's only one thing that could make it any better...
Fireworks
I've actually only been to a fireworks festival once, twice if you count the day I landed in Japan and saw a rather spectacular show between buildings from the back of Hiro's car. The second happened an embarrassingly recent 2 weeks ago- all the way in Shizuoka prefecture. The show was the biggest in the area, drawing what I could easily see was tens of thousands of people to the riverbed in Shizuoka city. Luckily the group I was with had come early in the morning and staked out a good spot with their tent, so we could just sit back and relax with some Kirin and some snacks.
I don't know how it goes in other places, but the fireworks in my hometown used to take place at the local Jr high. While the assembled hoards chilled out on the basketball courts and parking lots, the fire department set up in an adjoining field. After waiting for what felt like approximately forever (which is how long most things take as a kid), they would do a short, simple introduction. Then they would launch one or two fireworks at a time every couple minutes, or longer depending on how competent they were, and it would all slowly build up into a spectacular finale.
I was expecting approximately the same thing in Japan, so I was pretty shocked when, after launching a few test shots into the fading sunset, the sky practically exploded in sparks. What followed was at least 3 solid minutes of fireworks rivaling and surpassing any finale I'd ever seen in the states. They then cooled off and began launching only a couple at a time- but with hardly any break in between them at all. They continued like that for about an hour, and then they had the real finale, which was about 5 minutes of solid fireworks- wave after wave of them.
My only complaint was being so far away from them. Even though I had a spectacular view, the whole affair seemed to take up about a third of the sky. I'm not sure where they were launching from, but it may have been a ways down or across the river. In my hometown we were so close to where they were launching that the explosions at times seemed to drip down all the way to the horizon. Lying on your back and staring upwards, they seemed to be blooming right above your head, and would eventually envelop you. Indeed; some looked so close that younger kids would squeal and shield their hair from falling sparks.
However, I've never watched fireworks while drinking before, and that was pretty awesome. So, score one for Japan on that one.
The fireworks festival I went to was on the larger side, but it was by no means the biggest in Japan or even anything especially remarkable. Nearly every area of Japan does several of these festivals every summer, and as far as I know, are all about the same length. Now, does this get obscenely expensive? Yes, yes it does. About halfway through the show I noticed a particularly genki voice shrieking genkily over the loudspeaker, but couldn't really catch what she was saying. My new Japanese friend (everyone is your friend after enough Kirin) explained to me that fireworks are so expensive that they need to be sponsored, so the voice was describing the types of fireworks being launched and also the business that had paid for them. I was glad then that I can still tune Japanese out, because if I had understood that it was commercials I would probably have been pissed and distracted. I have no idea what it is, but there is a total indifference to noise pollution here. I can't explain it.
So, that's my long update. I could probably write more but I guess I oughta pace myself.
Oh, I'm also going to the Solomon Islands on the 1st of next month.
Recent Comments